top of page

A Year of Change




I believe everyone expects some change to take place when the new year comes in, but 2020 decided to do a campaign of shock and awe, pretty much throwing everyone for a loop. This year has most certainly had its share of surprises. Although I believe most people can attest to how horrible this year has been, and there most certainly has been plenty of less than pleasant things happen to me this year, but it would be wrong of me not to talk about all the good things that have happened as well. I wish I could tell you all about what has happed both good and bad. Unfortunately, I can't remember all the bad. Or maybe I should say fortunately. However, because this year has been somewhat traumatic, I can't remember a lot except for a few of the more important things.


My year started out great, because I married the love of my life on January 10th. I traveled to Mexico to marry my wife as she is a Mexican citizen and lives in Mexico. It was the first time that I ever left the US in my 42 years at that time. I have since had a birthday. However, I remember at the time hearing and reading news about some virus breaking out in Wuhan, China. Little did we know that it would grow into a global pandemic and turning the world upside-down. I had to leave my wife behind in Mexico back in January with the promise that I would return for her. However, the previously mentioned pandemic that would initially be called the Coronavirus, later would be named Covid-19 broke out in the US in March. Many were in lockdown, some without a choice, and others by choice. At first I chose not to go anywhere except for work and to buy the few essentials I needed to get by day to day.


But eventually the borders between the US and Mexico closed making it impossible to travel even if I wanted to be with my wife. That option was removed from the table. My wife's appointment with the US Embassy to get a Visa was cancelled and rescheduled for later. It became difficult to decide if it was better for me to be in Mexico with her or her with me in the US. Eventually I decided to move to Mexico to be with her only shortly discovering afterwards that her second appointment with the US Embassy was cancelled and rescheduled yet again for April of 2021. So, I feel like I made the right decision to move to Mexico. But I'm not going to lie to you. It is a scary move, because I don't have any work right now, and I don't have a work visa either, so I can't legally work in Mexico. Also, I'm fully aware of how difficult it is to find work, especially online, since this pandemic has forced a lot of people to work online now. On one hand, I feel like there are more jobs online, but also there are fewer available jobs online since there are more people working online and remotely than ever before.


Right now I am taking a course to teach English as a second language online, but I have had my fair share of technical problems after arriving in Mexico. I've had problems with the internet not working properly. I've had problems of webpages not loading or saying that they were unavailable. I've had my internet completely quit in the middle of doing something and lose everything. Also, I have problems with time management, since my whole schedule and routine has been disrupted since moving here. I go to bed much later now, and then I wake up much later too. Also, all the things that I normally do are done at different times, and then there are things that I don't do now while there are new things that I do, so essentially everything is quite a bit different for me now, and I haven't been able to fully adjust to my new life here. Don't get me wrong, I am still adjusting, and it is going to take a little more time. I love life here in Mexico at the moment. I'm just not quite sure what my next move is going to be. But maybe that is okay. Maybe I don't have to have everything figured out yet. Still, that scares the hell out of me though.




74353676_10102587471788294_6055237016377

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Hey there! I'm Steve, and I want to thank you for checking out my blog. It means a lot to me that you've taken the time to check out my page. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page